Whitchurch, ‘Yr Eglwys Newydd’
Melingriffith Tin Plate works factory built in 1749 was once the largest working tin factory in the UK.
Whitchurch, is a community in the north of Cardiff and takes its name from ‘White Church’. The first mention of the area was in 1126 when the land was granted to Llandaff Cathedral and a chapel was built where Old Church Road now stands. Until the 18th Century it was no more than farmland with 300 people and 50 farms and by the 19th Century this had risen to 5,000. In the 19th century, the Bute family assumed responsibility of Whitchurch Common. Their attempt to produce wine on the slopes below Castell Coch was short-lived, bottling 40 gallons in 1887. A large part of the history of Whitchurch is the Melingriffith Tin Plate works factory, the tin mills powered by the River Taff. The tin works closed in 1957 with little trace left, replaced with a modern housing estate which led to Whitchurch becoming a suburb in the City of Cardiff in 1967.
Today’s Whitchurch has facilities including shopping centre, schools, library and hospital. Whitchurch High school, which opened in 1937 and is the largest comprehensive school in Wales with around 2400 pupils. The area is also known for its Mental Hospital, which is now named Whitchurch Hospital, it opened in 1908 accommodating 750 patients and gained lots of reputation for its research. Whitchurch also boasts its very own award-winning community magazine, which was launched in December 2008. 'Whitchurch and Llandaff Living', it has a distribution of 6000 copies across Whitchurch, Llandaff North and Llandaff and is published bimonthly.
KEYLET GUIDE TO WHITCHURCH